Dad’s Fiftieth

Recently I wrote about my Mom’s fiftieth mother’s day. Now it is my Dad’s turn. This is his 50th father’s day. Fathers have a special place in their kids’ hearts. Kids grow up wanting to imitate their father’s behavior and follow their advice. This is good and bad on us dads. We can never be perfect, and our kids our going to learn from our good and bad moments. Here are some things I have learned from my father.

dad2Slothfulness casts into a deep sleep, and an idle person will suffer hunger. Proverbs 19:15 A rolling stone gathers no moss.  I have never seen my father sit still. Even as he has gotten older he is always doing something. In between he may take naps but still you can find Dad spreading mulch in the 95 degree Florida heat. I will admit I have two speeds, on and off. We need to live with the switch on, that is how we share the fruits of God’s grace.

Let each one [give] as he has made up his own mind and purposed in his heart, not reluctantly or sorrowfully or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 2 Corinthians 9: 7 Give your time freely. It is the most precious gift you have. I have watched my Father give his time. His volunteer work is legendary. When I volunteer (a lot) it is because of what my Father taught me.

He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much. Luke 16:10  Anything can be fixed. Everything has value. When we grew up there wasn’t a lot of extra money. If something broke Dad fixed it. When I needed my first car we put in a motor and spray painted the car. If something could be fixed we did. This attitude has carried over. I fix what I can- it not only saves money but shows respect for my processions.

dadDo you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.” 1 Corinthians 9:24 If you can’t run, walk; if you can’t walk crawl, if you can’t crawl get there anyway. That was an expression I heard from a young age! It was about two things. First establish the goal. Second, find a way to get there. That is what learned from my dad. And with God I know it is possible.

For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. Matthew 11:30 Give it up to God. My dad read me this scripture just the other day. He was excited about it. What I don’t think he realized that he had taught me that already. There is no burden to great for God. And if we need to expend energy, why not use it on God?

For the righteous falls seven times and rises again. Proverbs 24:16 Get back up again. My dad has fallen hard in his life. My falls have made his falls seem small. But I saw him get up and be a changed man. That gave me hope. And I stood up. I didn’t know what to do. But it was reassuring to see the man my Dad became. That is a gift I will always be grateful for.

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 1 Corinthians 13:7 The journey of marriage. I have seen my father truly love my mother for 50+ years. His ability to love involves giving something of himself to my mother, constantly. There is also a true covenant with God regarding the sacred bond of marriage which has survived turbulence and joy. I look forward to treating a future partner that way.

So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets. Matthew 7:12 The world is full of our brothers and sisters. The true test of our character and servant love for God is how we treat those whom society has stopped caring about. My father has dedicated his ministry to people others have forgot. I’d like to think I have followed in his footsteps. The funny part is, there is no place my father is more comfortable (me too!). Makes me think a whole lot of people are missing out on something cool.

dad3Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate. Psalm 127: 3-5 I love you. Those are words we need to hear. My father has never been afraid to express his love. I have practiced this lesson. As I drop Mikayla off at school every day I always tell her “I love you and I’m proud of you.” Some mornings she groans (Thus is the nature of a 15 year old.) Other days I hear “I love you too”. But every day she hears me. That is our charge.

Thanks for teaching me these things Dad. As I have said I am trying to follow in your footsteps. Your legacy, my gift. HAPPY FATHER’S DAY.

God Bless,

Mark

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    June 16, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    thanks —– love —– dad


Leave a comment